Saturday, September 12, 2009

Coogs Win!!!!

Congratulations to the Coogs today! The University of Houston football team beat #5 Oklahoma State in Stillwater, OK.

Today's win is the first road win against a top 5 opponent since UH beat 6-0-1 #3 Texas on 11-10-1984. The Coogs went on to be Southwest Conference Co-Champions tying with SMU. Houston went to the Cotton Bowl based on its victory over SMU.

While UH has been known for its offense for much of its history, the 1984 Coogs had some incredible defensive players that went on to the NFL. Three of them are T J Turner, Audray McMillian, and Simon Fletcher who are featured below.

T J Turner
1989 Topps #294

Audray McMillian
1993 Fleer #259

Simon Fletcher
1994 SkyBox Impact #75

No comments: